Tinubu wins 2023 presidential election

Dusts Atiku, Obi

Presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, Bola Ahmed Tinubu has been declared winner of the 2023 presidential election.

According to the results in the wee hours of Wednesday, Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Mahmood Yakubu said Tinubu polled a total of 8,794,726 to defeat candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Atiku Abubakar and Peter Obi of the Labour Party, LP who polled 6,984, 520 and 6,101,533 respectively.

Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigerian Peoples Party, NNPP, garnered 1,496,687, while the votes of the political parties put together is 666,298.

Tinubu was also able to achieve the mandatory 25 percent votes from 24 States as stipulated in the Electoral Act 2022 as amended.

Interestingly, Tinubu, Atiku and Obi all won twelve states each, including the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, while Kwankwaso cleared Kano State.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button