How Breath Of Life won big with five awards at 2024 AMVCA

There has been no contention from movie lovers in Nigeria or across the continent, after must-watch Breath Of Life swept five awards at the 10th African Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA).

Hosted by the master himself—IK Osakioduwa, the highlight of the evening was the triumph of movie which clinched the coveted Best Movie Award. The film, produced by Eku Edewor, received a total of 11 nominations and emerged victorious in six categories, including Best Director and Best Lead Actor.

Wale Ojo, who portrayed the character of Timi with depth and conviction, took home the Best Actor award. The Best Director accolade went to BB Sasore, while Ademola Adedoyin was awarded Best Supporting Actor. Genoveva Umeh won Best Supporting Actress, and Grey Jones Ossai received the Best Sound Design award.

Breath of Life, set against the backdrop of the 1950s, explores themes of faith and destiny, leaving an indelible mark on the cinematic landscape.

Veteran Nollywood actress, Idowu Philips (Iya Rainbow), and actor, Richard Mofe-Damijo (RMD), were honoured with the Industry Merit Awards at the ceremony.

See the full list of AMVCA 2024 winners below:

Best Makeup

Francesca Otaigbe (Over the Bridge)

Campbell Precious (Mami Wata) – WINNER

Hadizat Gambo (Mojisola)

Hakeem Onilogbo (Jagun Jagun — The Warrior)

Feyisayo Oyebisi (A Tribe Called Judah)

Best Art Direction

Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)

Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade) – WINNER

Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)

The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)

Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)

Mami Wata (C.J ‘Fiery’ Obasi)

Omen (Eve Martin)

Best Costume Design

Demola Adeyemi (Over The Bridge)

Bolanle Austin Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker and Clement Effanga (Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti)

Lola Awe (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior) – WINNER

Bunmi Damilola Fashina (Mami Wata)

Daniel Obasi (Breath of Life)

Best Writing TV Series

Skinny Girl in Transit Season 7 (Bunmi Ajakaiye, Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi and Abdul Tijani- Ahmed)

Wura Season 2 (Jeffery David Musa, Olumide Kuti & Esther Oyiza Kokori)

Visa on Arrival (Bovi Ugboma)

MTV Shuga Naija (The MTV Staying Alive Foundation)

Volume (Mona Ombogo) – WINNER

Masquerades of Aniedo (Timendu Aghahowa & Motunde Akiode)

Slum King (Donald Tombia, Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi, Fatimah Binta Gimsay & Xavier Ighorodje)

Best Writing in a Movie

Breath of Life (BB Sasore)

Over The Bridge (Tosin Otudeko)

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Tunde Babalola) – WINNER

Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Adebayo Tijani)

Afamefuna (Anyanwu Sandra Adaora)

A Tribe Called Judah (Olufunke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh and Akinlabi Ishola)

Mami Wata (C.J. ‘Fiery’ Obasi)

Best Sound Design

Ava Momoh (Over the Bridge)

Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (Kipkemboi)

Grey Jones Ossai ( Blood Vessel) – WINNER

Grey Jones Ossai (Breath of Life)

Samy Bardet (Mami Wata)

Best Editing

Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo (Over The Bridge)

Holmes Awa (Breath of Life)

Alex Kamau And Victor Obok (Volume)

Dayo Nathaniel (Ogeere — Earth)

Antonio Ribeiro (The Black Book) – WINNER

Nathan Delannoy (Mami Wata)

Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

Mami Wata (C.J. ‘Fiery’ Obasi)

Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo) – WINNER

Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)

Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)

Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)

Best Indigenous Language (East Africa)

Where The River Divides

Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One) – WINNER




Best Cinematography

Mami Wata (Lílis Soares)

Blood Vessel (Gideon Chukwu)

Over The Bridge (KC Obiajulu) – WINNER

Breath of Life (Ola Cardoso)

Jagun Jagun — The Warrior (Adeoluwa Owu)

Ijogbon — Chaos (Adekunle Nodash Adejuyigbe)

Omen (Joachim Philippe)

Best Indigenous M-Net Original

The Passenger

Nana Akoto


Irora Iya (Adeniyi Joseph) -WINNER

Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)

Best Digital Content

National Treasure — Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)

Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement — Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi) – WINNER

Hello Neighbour — Elozonam Ogbolu, Lina idoko and Jemima Osunde

The Boyfriend — Maryam Apaokagi-Greene

Best Short Film

T’egbon T’aburo

Broken Mask – WINNER

Eighteenth Year

Man and Masquerades

A Place Called Forward

Best Unscripted M-Net Original

What Will People Say

The Irabors’ Forever After

Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives) – WINNER

Date My Family Zambia

Royal Qlique (Season 2)

Best Scripted M-Net Original

Slum King – WINNER

Half Open Window


The Passenger

Magic Room

Best Supporting Actress

Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)

Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun — The Warrior)

Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)

Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life) – WINNER

Eliane Umuhire (Omen)

Tana Adelana (Ijogbon — Chaos)

Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Best Supporting Actor

Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)

Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life) – WINNER

Itele d Icon (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)

Gregory Ojefua (This is Lagos)

Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)

Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button